Competition heats up as 2019 U Sports Women’s Basketball National Championships starts

0
569

Hosts Ryerson Rams to play in Quarterfinals against favourite Laval Rouge et Or

(TORONTO, March 5, 2019) – The 2019 U SPORTS Women’s Basketball National Championship begins this week in Toronto, hosted by Ryerson University. The Final 8 tournament will kick off with the Quarterfinals on Thursday, March 7th at Mattamy Athletic Centre.

The four-day tournament features the top eight U SPORTS women’s basketball teams from across Canada. The national champions will be crowned on Sunday, March 10th.

WHAT:      2019 U SPORTS Women’s Basketball National Championship  

WHO:           Final 8 teams:

1.    Laval Rouge et Or

2.    McMaster Marauders

3.    Saskatchewan Huskies

4.    Ottawa Gee-Gees

5.    Regina Cougars

6.    Acadia Axewomen

7.    Concordia Stingers

8.    Ryerson Rams (hosts)

WHEN:       March 7-10, 2019

WHERE:      Mattamy Athletic Centre, Ryerson University (50 Carlton St)

Thursday, March 7, 2019

Quarterfinals

No. 2 McMaster vs. No. 7 Concordia, 12 p.m. ET / 9 a.m. PT*

No. 3 Saskatchewan vs. No. 6 Acadia, 2 p.m. ET / 11 a.m. PT

No. 1 Laval vs. No. 8 Ryerson, 6 p.m. ET / 3 p.m. PT

No. 4 Ottawa vs. No. 5 Regina, 8 p.m. ET / 5 p.m. PT

*Elementary School Day game, with 1,000 local elementary school students in attendance

Friday, March 8, 2019

Consolation Semifinal #1 – 6:00 p.m.

Consolation Semifinal #2 – 8:00 p.m.

Teams TBD

Saturday, March 9, 2019

Semifinal #1 – 3:00 p.m.

Semifinal #2 – 7:00 p.m.

Teams TBD

Sunday, March 10, 2019

Consolation Final – 1:00 p.m.

Bronze – 3:00 p.m.

Gold – 7:30 p.m.

Teams TBD

Courtesy Ryerson Rams